CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C4 General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion-34/)
-   -   Hydraulic clutch problem 1996 C4 corvette (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion/2781384-hydraulic-clutch-problem-1996-c4-corvette.html)

martznc 02-21-2011 09:38 AM

Hydraulic clutch problem 1996 C4 corvette

I'm a new member of Corvette Forum, but not with Corvettes. I presently own a 1958 Corvette which I've had for over 40 years and a 1977 Corvette which I've had for 21 years. Both of these Corvettes have manual 4 speed transmissions and over the years have replaced clutch and pressure plate several times in both. I have an extensive automotive background and I’m a engineer. I'm in need of a second opinion concerning my recent purchase of a 1996 Corvette with LT 4 engine and ZF six speed manual transmission, mileage is 79,750. The problem is with the hydraulic master/slave cylinder system. When I depress the clutch pedal to start the engine I hear a noise coming from the bell housing. The noise sounds like the clutch arm is hitting the back of a pressure plate and not a throw out bearing growling noise. When I release the clutch pedal about half an inch the noise goes away and everything is fine. I can shift the transmission with no noise or problem. I've inspected both the clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder for leaks, neither are leaking. When I checked the clutch master cylinder reservoir I noticed the clutch fluid was black and metallic looking, indicating extensive wear. I flushed and replaced the DOT 3 fluid in both master cylinder and slave cylinder which did not correct the problem. Since the hydraulic clutch system does not have any adjustments. I think I need to replace both the clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder because of wear and metallic looking fluid. Before I remove the tra