CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Corvette General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion-74/)
-   -   Does anyone hide a spare key under their Corvette?? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion/2838916-does-anyone-hide-a-spare-key-under-their-corvette.html)

mazurekd 05-18-2011 10:24 PM

Does anyone hide a spare key under their Corvette??

Not the whole FOB mind you, just the key. I plan on getting a duplicate key made from the one in the FOB, and then hide it beneath the car. Then if I misplace the FOB when I am not at home, and I don't have phone access (either the phone is locked in the car, or I forget OnStar’s number, or don't renew OnStar), I have a 'hard' key to get me in the hatch.

Make sense? (I'm a newbie with Corvettes.)

vettedoogie 05-18-2011 10:26 PM

Never....keep a spare in my wallet if anywhere. Otherwise always attached to my fob.

u1arunit 05-18-2011 10:27 PM

Nope!

Raazor 05-18-2011 10:28 PM

neither. however i do keep whiskey in the window washer reservoir. i have it piped into the cabin right near the cup holder.

brooklync5 05-18-2011 10:28 PM

Wallet sounds best

smurfkiller 05-18-2011 10:35 PM

sure why not no one will ever know its there. not like they can steal your car with just the key anyway.

i done same thing with most my cars. on my s10 i shaved the door handles. so there is a second set of wires that go to the release solenoid for door latch that come out under truck. i keep a 9 volt batt under the truck, so if the batt dies or the batt in remote dies i can touch the 9v to the wires and pop the door. had to use it once in 4 years. but its better than breaking a window. you cant call a locksmith when you have no door handles!!

RAGGDOLL 05-18-2011 10:39 PM

You bet, plus spare fob is tucked away inside the car. Got stuck once, never again!