CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-tech-performance-101/)
-   -   DIY: ECS Trans Brace in a C6 (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-tech-performance/2840787-diy-ecs-trans-brace-in-a-c6.html)

JSB LS3 05-22-2011 02:00 PM

DIY: ECS Trans Brace in a C6

NOTE: My car is an '08. I believe the kit I used is for any '06 and newer non-Z06 car.

I just completed this yesterday and I figured I'd do a write-up to let anyone thinking of doing it themselves what to expect. Note that the instructions available for these kits depict a drivetrain that is NOT in a car during installation. Obviously, this changes things a bit if you intend to do it in the car.

First of all, I will say that I have basic mechanical knowledge and a decent selection of hand tools.

That said, I've never disassembled my car to the degree I did and if you never have either, plan on the better part of a whole day to get it done if you're doing it without a lift.

There's nothing about the job that's technically difficult or complicated, but it can be extremely tedious and time-consuming.

I'd also like to thank SlickShoes for his excellent thread on dropping the C6 drivetrain as it laid out what to expect from pulling the rear cradle and davidfarmer for his website that includes a great .pdf with every torque spec you could need. You can find those threads here....

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-t...ion-4-0-a.html

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-t...info-here.html

I will try to be as thorough as possible though I have forgotten a lot of the individual bolt sizes and such since yesterday.

1) Elevate the rear of the car on jackstands. I recommend lifting the front as well so you can get to the bolts connecting the midpipes to the catback, but I did not (which in retrospect was a mistake).