CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C5 General (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general-103/)
-   -   Advice after seeing CarFax history (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-general/3634552-advice-after-seeing-carfax-history.html)

Dbl_D718 04-09-2015 10:00 PM

Advice after seeing CarFax history

I'm looking at a 2004 z06 at a dealership, and they offered up the CarFax report for me. There are several maintenance records that stand out to me, and I just thought I'd ask for some input since I'm new to Corvettes.

The "body electrical system" was checked three times over the car's 63,000 mile life. The "instrument cluster" was checked twice as well, with "repaired wiring" included on the second check. Currently, the only issue with the car is that the HUD does not work. Is there a common problem with HUDs failing? I'm wondering if all of these checks have involved repeated HUD failure.

Just looking for input. All service records were at Chevy dealerships. Should I steer clear of this one? Everything else looks great as far as paint, interior, and mechanical condition.

73Corvette 04-09-2015 11:11 PM

Originally Posted by 8VETTE7 (Post 1589384367)
I would move on past this one if the HUD is not currently working.

Just curious... why? Is it indicative of things to come?
What other issues are associated with the HUD going bad?

JR-01 04-10-2015 06:54 AM

The first thing I do when looking at a car to buy is make sure everything works like it's supposed to. Tells a lot about the previous owners.

Monkey D. Luffy 04-10-2015 07:30 AM

Originally Posted by 8VETTE7 (Post 1589384865)