CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C4 General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion-34/)
-   -   Shop Experience (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion/4109937-shop-experience.html)

2LZ 03-05-2018 01:07 PM

Shop Experience

I’ve always done my own work. In my younger years, I was a mechanic at a local auto shop. That said, every time that I took my own car to a shop for work, more often than not, it ended in disappointment. Now that I’m not a spring chicken anymore, I still try to do as much of my own work as the body will allow.
Enter C4 LT1. I’ve been chasing oil leaks for the past year. I’ve done the intake, both oil senders, valve cover gaskets, all three seals on the front and also, the crank sensor o-ring. The only items NOT changed now are the rear main seal and the pan gasket.
I had the car on ramps for a while doing things under it and when I got to the pan decided, “I’m too old for this s—t.”, so I decided to have a shop do the pan gasket. Besides, it’s snowing. I’d rather be in front of the wood stove with a cocktail.
I got an acceptable quote from a reputable, local shop. Made the appointment and dropped it off at the agreed time. It was supposed to be done the next afternoon. There guy could start on it “first thing in the morning”.
About 2:30 the next day, phone rings. No, it wasn’t the “Your car is done” call. It was the upsell call.
Said my opti seal or water pump seal (they weren’t sure which) was leaking and they wouldn’t do the pan without doing the seals. I told them that you didn’t have to remove the timing cover to do the seals. I just changed them and they weren’t leaking as of two days ago. After a little while of arguing, I just went and picked up the car because they refused to change the pan gasket unless I approved an additional 800.00 worth of work.