CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 General (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-general-119/)
-   -   Exhaust/Muffler Help (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-general/4123000-exhaust-muffler-help.html)

twinpack 04-06-2018 01:13 PM

Exhaust/Muffler Help

So I've been researching exhaust for my 1968, 327/350. Looking for advice on the mount for the mufflers. I want to use Dynomax Super Turbo mufflers but they and others usual suspects don't have the provision to connect to the factory muffler hanger at the exit point. What have others done to solve this? Or does anyone know if a company can provide a muffler with the welded attachment point? I see Corvette suppliers sell complete exhaust and I could buy just the mufflers. This would solve the hanger issue, but are these mufflers the same quality and how about the sound. I am trying to get a quitter, muscle car sound and no drone if possible. The car is for me and my wife to enjoy and not a racecar. don't want loud and raspy, just mellow throatiness. Please help.
Thanks

7T1vette 04-06-2018 01:17 PM

Try Magnaflow mufflers. I think they make direct-fit replacements for the C3 cars. Nice mufflers and you can make them as 'mellow' or as 'raunchy' as you choose.

general ike 04-06-2018 01:30 PM

If you really wanted to use those mufflers, you could use the setup the previous Owner setup on mine. Simple bracket mounted to the original mounting holes that come down in the form of a hook that engages a c clamp around the tail pipe of the muffler. Set up works fine. But not original. Let me know if you need a pic of it. Ike.

twinpack 04-06-2018 01:34 PM

Originally Posted by general ike (Post 1596940888)