CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C4 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-tech-performance-48/)
-   -   '94 bucking severely and hard starting when warm (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-tech-performance/4126726-94-bucking-severely-and-hard-starting-when-warm.html)

JBOSS 04-15-2018 07:51 PM

'94 bucking severely and hard starting when warm

Hi Guys,

Long-time Vette guy here. I am on #9, but this is my first project car. All of my previous Vette’s were in good condition, including a restored ’71 and a ’15 Z51 that I also own. I am mechanically inclined, but it’s been quite a while since turning wrenches on a car. I have surfed this Forum and other sites quite a bit about my symptoms, and I have some ideas. That said, I could really use your advice on the steps that I should take to test and rule various things out. I am dreading a diagnosis that I am experiencing the dreaded Opti-Spark failure, but I want to be as confident as possible that it’s the problem before I undertake that nasty job. Here are the facts:

+ It’s a 1994. Car has 72,000 miles on it. It’s a 6-speed.
+ When cold, starts easily and runs smoothly. Once warm, it “misses” and bucks severely when at low RPM, under load.
+ I think I have a stuck thermostat as the car continues to increase in temp to the point where I need to shut it down to cool it off.
+ Once warm, the car is very hard starting. Quite a bit of cranking to get it re-started.
+ I jumped pins #4 and #12 and the car displayed these codes on the digital display:

H15 Coolant sensor low temp indicated
H32 EGR Failure
H34 Map sensor signal low
H36 Ignition faulty high-resolution signal

Is it possible that the MAP sensor and EGR “failures” could be the cause of my issues? If this is an Opti-Spark issue could it in any way be related to the EGR and MAP issues?