CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C1 & C2 Corvettes (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c1-and-c2-corvettes-4/)
-   -   Newbie with shifting problem (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c1-and-c2-corvettes/4140920-newbie-with-shifting-problem.html)

rockingchairmotors 05-19-2018 09:58 AM

Newbie with shifting problem

Hello all,
My name is Jeff and I live in Nazareth PA. I just bought a 1963 C2 convertible. Its a driver but I the car has a linkage or shifting problem. I am not familiar with corvettes at all but I am a somewhat competent mechanic.
I have a tremendous about of play in my shifter linkage. So much so I cannot get the car into 3rd gear. I did take it to a mechanic, we bought a new shifter mechanism and linkage parts. He put them in, and the car is worse than it was before. I do not want to take it back to him. Is this a problem I can solve myself or should I take it to someone that knows these transmissions?
If I should take it to someone, can anyone give me recommendations for someone competent in the Lehigh Valley PA area that can help me?
Thanks in advance for your help.

DUB 05-19-2018 11:42 AM

Yes you can fix this yourself if you have the opportunity to get the car up and safety supported.

HONESTLY.. Because I own a Corvette shop...Take it back to him and let him know it is not right. I know you do not want to do that. But he got PAID to do a job. And it seems the job was not done correctly or something went wrong and these new parts are defective...which is not his fault. . Give him a chance to correct it. If you choose to do this and it keeps going bad time and time again..then get your money back from him a THEN find someone.....OR...fix it yourself or pay someone else to do it again.

What is wrong with this new shifter and linkage?

Is the new shifter a HURST shifter or a reproduction of the original???