CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C5 Tech (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-tech-1/)
-   -   One headlight stays down (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-tech/4186917-one-headlight-stays-down.html)

Terje.Larsson 09-11-2018 02:18 AM

One headlight stays down

Hey all
Have had my c5 since May and then tested my headlight and booth was working.
Now yesterday was the first time since I tested ... no light went up;
Tested a few times and suddenly left light went up :) .. but right light
stays in the down position .. both lights are working so the problem is that it does not go up.
Im not that good at troubleshooting so thought if someone could tell me a little bit in the troubleshooting :)
Thanks in advance.

K-Spaz 09-11-2018 09:22 AM

Do a search for bump stops, buy a few and replace. They're little beige plastic caps you can easily see when you have the hood open. There's 4 per side, but you most likely won't need all 8.

I've got several just sitting here on my desk.

Also, you can move them around since they all use different contact areas. Just play musical chairs with em and you'll see the spots they rest on are in different locations depending on which one you're looking at. That will also get you back in business short term. But they get brittle over time so for the few bucks they cost, I just replaced em.

https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...a82d793858.jpg

https://cimg0.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...94b00faec6.jpg

GCG 09-11-2018 07:10 PM

Originally Posted by Terje.Larsson (Post 1597960914)
...no light went up;
Tested a few times and suddenly left light went up :) .. but right light stays in the down position .. both lights are working so the problem is that it does not go up...