CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C5 Tech (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-tech-1/)
-   -   Harmonic Balancer confusion? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c5-tech/4187919-harmonic-balancer-confusion.html)

LSKevin117 09-13-2018 06:00 PM

Harmonic Balancer confusion?

Hi guys, previous lurker here! To make a long story short, I'm new to the Corvette family. I'm on my second C5 Corvette now in only 3 weeks time. I bought a 1999 coupe a few weeks ago and was rear ended by an F150 that simply let off of the brakes and rolled into me at 5mph the day after buying it. Shockingly, insurance totalled it, but they gave me way more than I paid for it so I was actually pretty happy about it. Just last week, I found a good deal on a 2001 coupe in Dark Bowling Green Metallic. 94K miles, 100% stock from wheels, to exhaust, to radio. It's in way better shape than the 1999 was, and I knew many of the best changes for the c5 took place in 01, so I couldn't pass it up. The catch however, was that the harmonic balancer needs to be replaced, so sadly, I haven't been able to really drive it since I got it. I ordered all of the parts I believe I need to swap it out. I've watched many videos, and read many write ups on the subject. I believe I am about ready to do this. However, I have a few questions before I start. I've searched as much as I can, but can't find solid answers to all of them.

Firstly, I will be using the ARP damper bolt, not the stock torque to yield bolt. There seems to be some confusion on whether or not to use thread locker when using this particular bolt. I know you aren't supposed to with the OEM style bolts, so what about the ARP? If so, what kind or color?