CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C4 General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion-34/)
-   -   Car cranks but won't start. (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion/4226653-car-cranks-but-wont-start.html)

jcooperman59 12-30-2018 02:58 PM

Car cranks but won't start.

I have a 1996 Collectors Edition Corvette. The engine will crank but won't start. I've replaced the Opti Spark and wire harness. I've replaced the Coil and harness. And I replaced the control module and harness. Currently I am getting a code 1361. I also placed a spark detector on the #2 cylinder and don't see a spark. One thing I noticed is that the new coil harness has 3 wires and the old has 2. The center coil wire is connected to the white wire on the control module. The other wire is connected to a red wire. I'm new to Corvettes but not to working on cars. The car ran great for the first 6 months I owned it then it stopped and wouldn't restart. For many previously owned GM's that has always pointed to the Control Module. I replaced it with an auto zone special with no luck. Then ordered an ac delco from Rock. also ordered the coil and wire harnesses at the same time. Still no luck. Finally replaced the opti spark. The car started a couple of times then back to the same problem. Cranks and cranks but won't start.

billschroeder5842 12-30-2018 03:40 PM

Welcome to the forum. You need to pull some codes before you throw any more parts at your car.

mazdaverx7 12-30-2018 05:58 PM

Have you tested for proper fuel pressure with the key on and when cranking?

jcooperman59 12-31-2018 11:36 AM

Sorry I wasn't on line, grand kids attacked.