CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance-3/)
-   -   1982 Collectors Edition O2 Sensor replacement (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance/4229444-1982-collectors-edition-o2-sensor-replacement.html)

Delafield2000 01-08-2019 09:55 AM

1982 Collectors Edition O2 Sensor replacement

The CEL comes on after about 15 minutes of driving and stays on from a couple of minutes to 10 minutes, and then goes off for a while.
OBD says its code 13 which relates to the O2 sensor.

I'm a newbie when it comes to repairs (but want to start doing my own). Does this point to a faulty O2 sensor that I should replace?
Ecklers has them for about $20 so I figure I'll try the repair on my own rather than getting ripped of by a mechanic. Any tips on doing
the replacement would be greatly appreciated.

speedreed8 01-08-2019 10:06 AM

Rockauto has it for $10

Big2Bird 01-08-2019 12:00 PM

Buy/rent the correct tool. Special sockets make it easier.

Buccaneer 01-08-2019 12:21 PM

Owning a 82/84 CF corvette is unique and requires some special maintenance from time to time. The BEST advise I can give you is to buy a GM Shop Manual off of eBay, do not waste your time and money on Chilton manuals and the like. The GM Shop Manuals are available and worth their weight in gold for a car that is now 37 years old. Also, DO NOT mess with the throttle bodies unless you know exactly what you are doing or you WILL screw them up and the motor WILL run badly. Here is the info you seek right from the GM manual. As you can see, it could also be the ECM, but probaly the O2 sensor. Good luck with your 82. :thumbs:

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...bd39bd79f5.jpg
https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...f26c4821ad.jpg

cv67 01-08-2019 12:58 PM