CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 General (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-general-119/)
-   -   Should I buy a C3 corvette (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-general/4230270-should-i-buy-a-c3-corvette.html)

Vincent_V 01-10-2019 01:47 PM

Should I buy a C3 corvette

I graduated from college about a year ago and I'm looking for a vehicle that is more interesting/fun than the old Honda Accord that I've been driving. With that in mind, I stumbled across a 1979 L82 Corvette for about $10,000.

Whatever car I buy is going to become my daily driver (my daily commuting would be split between this and one or two motorcycles). I've never owned a corvette before but I've always loved the old C3 body styles. I'm mechanically competent and I do all my own maintenance/repairs, but most of my experience has been on motorcycles.

Should I buy a corvette? Should I daily drive a C3 Corvette? Are there any specific issues I need to look out for? What's a decent price for a C3?

Any advice/opinions/etc... would be appreciated.

ivanh3 01-10-2019 02:13 PM

I just inherited my dad's Corvette. It was his daily driver for over 30 years, and it is practically my daily driver now. Having owned motorcycles myself, I will say that a Corvette is similar to a motorcycle in terms of practicality: Same number of people can ride/drive in it. It has a small compartment behind the seat, and it has a rack on the back. Take the tops off, and the comparison is even closer. I am a "go for it" if it makes you happy kind of guy. You will be tinkering quite a bit (which is half the fun for me). I don't know if getting the Corvette means getting rid of the Accord, but having a vehicle handy that can carry more than two with some luggage may be nice.

Easy Mike 01-10-2019 03:08 PM

Originally Posted by Vincent_V (Post 1598658680)
...Should I buy a corvette?...