CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance-3/)
-   -   75 Vette suspension question (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance/4236244-75-vette-suspension-question.html)

buzz2none 01-27-2019 04:12 PM

75 Vette suspension question

I am a novice looking at purchasing a 75 Vette. I noticed that the front end appears to sit higher than the rear. What could be causing this and how expensive/difficult to correct? Thanks ahead of time for your insight.

'75 01-27-2019 04:16 PM

It's possible the rear spring is worn out and needs replaced. Front and rear measurements will tell if the front is high or the rear is low.

buzz2none 01-27-2019 04:39 PM

https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...0b9a33a42d.jpgThis is an image of the vehicle

'75 01-27-2019 05:20 PM

Rear looks ok, but the front sure is high. Is it an AC car with compressor removed? May have had front end work and the springs are not indexed correctly.

calwldlife 01-27-2019 05:21 PM

looks deceive.
measure

buzz2none 01-27-2019 05:27 PM

How do I go about getting decisive measurement?

'75 01-27-2019 05:31 PM

Tape measure from the highest point of the fender opening to the ground on all 4.

calwldlife 01-27-2019 05:45 PM

decisive would be per gm specs and measuring points.
general would be the wheel arch as mentioned.
too me, late model C3s with standard 225/70 tires had a little too much
gap from wheel arch to tire.
and yes sometimes the azz looks lower.
combo of car lines and tire gap.

a measure of around 27 inches from ground to wheel arch is in the ball park.

DUB 01-27-2019 06:49 PM