CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Corvette General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion-74/)
-   -   Do people do weird maybe jealous things to you when driving your Vette? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion/4250854-do-people-do-weird-maybe-jealous-things-to-you-when-driving-your-vette.html)

CJustin6 03-11-2019 09:44 PM

Do people do weird maybe jealous things to you when driving your Vette?

I bought my 2011 C6 Corvette on New Year’s Eve 2018. I live in New York so haven’t driven it too much.
https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...2d25bf237.jpeg
I keep having interactions with people on the road that leaves me to believe they are jealous of me because I have a corvette maybe??? One of the guys at my job seems like he hates me now( I’m a Bmw tech and he used to work for Gm and loves corvettes.) I’ve had people block me in at the gas station, block me from passing on a two lane highway, I had a semi pull up into a lane that leads to a parkway just to cut me off. Anyone else experience this behavior? Kinda wish I bought a Chevy SS or maybe a G8 GXP. All I ever wanted was the most performance for my money.

buckmeister2 03-11-2019 11:29 PM

Honestly, the examples you have given sound like nothing more than you projecting negative motivations onto common, everyday events. What you describe is the same stuff that has happened to me, even when I drove a beater pickup. I can't speak for the "former" friend of yours, but that could be anything. I'm on my second C6, and have never noticed anyone show disdain. I either get ignored, or I get some form of approval from others.

Of course, my car is not bright yellow, which some people may feel means, "LOOK AT ME!" Or, maybe not...

RobLo 03-11-2019 11:33 PM