CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C4 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-tech-performance-48/)
-   -   Cooling problems (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-tech-performance/4271690-cooling-problems.html)

wedoo2 05-07-2019 10:49 PM

Cooling problems

84 model. The car overheated last Friday and I have tried to find out what happened. I had a fan motor that was running whenever the car was turned on. I imagine that it finally failed and the car started to steam.

I have done the tests in the FSM supplement and the fan did not come on. I have replaced the relay and a new fan motor. I have a new coolant temp switch. I am an electrical novice but hopefully I am grounding the temp switch correctly. There is a fusible link near the battery but I'm not sure how to diagnose if it is okay. I am attaching two pictures of the voltage I am seeing at the relay terminal

https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...f21b7d6453.jpg

This is from the FSM wiring diagram that I noted the voltage on each wire.

https://cimg7.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cor...ceb61c11dd.jpg

Not sure of my next move.

Hot Rod Roy 05-08-2019 01:50 AM

My first observation: It's not a good idea to just start replacing parts without knowing what the problem is! That will sometimes confuse the issue, as you won't know what's good and what's bad.

That relay connector is toast. If the fan was running all the time, your voltage measurements don't offer a clue as to the reason, so there's no way to answer that question with the information you have provided. Having the fan run all the time will probably cause that connector to fail. Can you post a photo of the relay pins?