CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance-3/)
-   -   '77 L48 brake help (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance/4276365-77-l48-brake-help.html)

amvenne 05-20-2019 07:41 PM

'77 L48 brake help

Hey guys, I'm new to the vette scene. I've been in love with the C3 for a long time and finally pulled the trigger on one. Love the forum and all the help everyone is providing. I'm sure I'll be pinging the crowd a lot for help. First question: my brakes aren't currently working. I only get stopping power when the brake is fully depressed, and even then its only some of the time. I bled all of the lines and it didn't help. I traced all of the lines to the calipers and didnt see any leaks. Where should I look next? MC? Power booster?

TV
1977 L48

'75 05-20-2019 08:10 PM

C3's are infamous for air in the brake lines and for being hard to bleed. I would try bleeding more. Do you get a better pedal if you pump the brakes a few times and then hold it down?

HeadsU.P. 05-20-2019 08:46 PM

I would bet somebody elses money, that somewhere along the lines of past history that somebody let the master go dry, added fluid and called it good. Letting it run dry introduced air into the system.
But before you start bleeding all six bleeders, I would remove the steel lines from the MC and plug them with a suitable plug, not a bolt. Then, if you can stand on the brake pedal, you have eliminated that portion as a suspect. If the pedal goes to the floor, then you know what part to order next.

If the MC is good, your issue lies elsewhere. Then reattach the lines and bleed all the calipers with fresh fluid. Check all the connections at the Proportioning Valve and any distribution blocks for wetness.