C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MUST READ if you have fuel sender/p2068 issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 06:50 PM
C6ToGo
Safety Car

Received 1,116 Likes on 693 Posts

Default MUST READ if you have fuel sender/p2068 issues

...or How to Stop all the Dings, DIC Messages and glowing MIL Lamp for 3 bucks and an hour of your time.

First a disclaimer: Use the following information for your possible benefit AND at your risk. I am not an electrical engineer. But I think some will be happy with the results I got with this “experiment.”

A while back I started a thread asking if there was a way to trick the right tank fuel sender so the error codes would stop.
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-c...el-sender.html

The responses almost convinced me that it couldn’t be done. But even though I am quick to give up on ideas, I decided not to give up on my theory and delved into the service manual for information. From what I saw, it looked like the sender in the tank was just a simple potentiometer/rheostat. It looked like it didn’t have any factor in signaling the jet transfer pump to move fuel between tanks (see Venturi pump info below). The fact that when the sender circuit failed and the MIL lamp glowed and nothing else started acting up, I was mildly convinced that the only thing adversely affected by the bad sender was merely the display on the dash.

I decided that if I could GET to the wires that go to the fuel sender that I could cut them and wire in a new sender on the outside of the tank. Then I could just slide the float arm to “empty” for the secondary tank and the errors would stop. In other words, the ECM would always get an empty RH tank signal causing the gage to read no higher than half full and then gage fuel level would drop between half and empty because it was using data from the left tank sender.