Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 differential noise

Old 06-12-2016, 09:42 PM
farrells vette
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2016 differential noise

Has anyone had issues with roaring coming from the differential of a C7 stingray? I heard the noise from day one, now after 4500 miles the dealer says there is a problem. I had them haul it to the preferred service dept in Jackson MS. Hoping they will figure it out and not easter egg hunt it.

Popular Reply

08-17-2016, 12:06 PM
Cargo
3rd Gear

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Default Noise in rear end 2016 Corvette

We bought a 2016 Corvette. We have the same noise problem in the differential. Possibly in the left driver side wheel. We've had it back to the dealer 3 or 4 times. Unable to find the problem. Phoned General Motors. They said they were not aware of any problems with the differential- noises in the rear wheel. I am very frustrated with the car. Being a licenced mechanic I decided it was time to investigate the noise myself. I drove the car around in 3 tight circles one way and 3 the other way to find that the noise disappeared. The noise was back the next morning. What it did by driving the car in the circles was to force the oil in different directions in the differential. I then took the car back to the dealership and asked them to check the oil level in the differential. They found the oil level to be low. The mechanic filled the differential to where the oil started to come out the oil plug. They noise is gone. I had put 500 Kilometers on the car and the noise has never reappeared. But I am still concerned there may be possible damage to the differential from having run it so long (1,700 km) while low on oil.
Old 06-12-2016, 10:11 PM
rcooper
Safety Car

Received 676 Likes on 480 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15