Sponsored by:

Coupe/Vert revelation

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2017, 08:47 AM
Red Square
Instructor

Received 39 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Coupe/Vert revelation

I'm a relative newbie, having only owned my 98 coupe for a few months.
Over the weekend I discovered what is probably an obvious aspect to the coupe, but one that I was wholly unaware of.

For the first time I pulled the targa top off and drove for an hour.
What I instantly realized, something that I'd really never seen or even saw discussed in forum posts (but I'm sure it had to have been), is that when you are driving, if you are looking straight ahead, it is the same experience as driving a vert (well...very damn close anyway).

All you see is open windows to the sides, windshield straight ahead, and sky above.

When you do shift your gaze from straight ahead to say 10 o-clock or 2 o-clock, you do catch the B pillars in the periphery of your field of view. But when driving you are almost always looking ahead, and it is a very vert experience. You cant see a roof above or behind you.

I'm certain the car's removable top was designed to accomplish just this driving experience, but in my 18 months of Vette research I don't think I ever saw it discussed.
Probably obvious to everyone but me.
Duh.
Old 09-26-2017, 08:53 AM
Phanni
Le Mans Master

Received 1,731 Likes on 847 Posts

Just a warning, do not become a member of the flying roof club.
Enjoy your Vette.
The following users liked this post:
CPO Rob (09-28-2017)
Old 09-26-2017, 08:59 AM
Vetteman Jack
Administrator

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: In a parallel universe. Currently own 2014 Stingray Coupe.
Received 19,278 Likes on 13,957 Posts
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
MO Events Coordinator
St. Jude Co-Organizer
St. Jude Donor '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-
'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor
CI 5, 8 & 11 Veteran