C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

unethical seller?

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2017, 02:24 AM
mjn76
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default unethical seller?

we recently had someone on here trying to sell a zr-1 for what seemed like a great price until it was found out that the car was involved in an accident that was severe enough to brand the title. the post was by "a friend" of the owner who had no prior knowledge of the damage. now it seems that the actual owner is trying to sell the same car on auto trader barely mentioning the damage sustained "I did have to replace the rear bumper cover"(and for more money)
unfortunately there is no was to call out the seller on auto trader the way it was here.
seems to me to be trying to hide the truth and leaves a bad taste in my mouth, but I have no personal knowledge of the situation and could be wrong
https://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-...searchRadius=0
Old 11-24-2017, 08:08 AM
PatternDayTrader
Race Director

Received 1,056 Likes on 769 Posts

Normal due diligence will uncover title problems. I wouldn't give this seller a second thought, because the name of game these days is "who can out crook who", so no big deal imo.
Old 11-24-2017, 09:28 AM
Cjunkie
Melting Slicks

Received 172 Likes on 134 Posts

We are talking about 20-30 year old cars here. Its a crap shoot not matter what you buy. You want ethics and no issues contact a forum dealer and buy a new one.
Old 11-24-2017, 09:33 AM
FASTAZU
Race Director

Received 910 Likes on 583 Posts
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C4 of Year Finalist (performance mods)
2018 C4 of Year Finalist
2015 C4 of the Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '16
2020 C3 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified

Happens all the time, I don't think that the owner is required by law to disclose anything about the vehicle in a privet sale.
Old 11-24-2017, 10:43 AM
PatternDayTrader
Race Director

Received 1,056 Likes on 769 Posts