C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Startup Input

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2018, 10:26 PM
andyanth
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Engine Startup Input

I'm about to buy my first C3, 1979. I'm new to the Corvette world and have very little experience but am eager the learn.
I've seen a number of cars over the past couple of weeks and in just about every one, the car doesn't start up. The seller pulls out a charger and the car starts. We shut it down after awhile, I continue my inspections, I try to start it up awhile later, and it doesn't start. Out comes the charger and the car starts.

I want to get your input on the top things I can proactively upgrade/replace to increase my chances of the car starting every time I turn the key.
I'll obviously put in a new battery and check battery ground and connections.

I appreciate your input.
Old 02-19-2018, 12:47 AM
JoeMinnesota
Pro

Received 148 Likes on 128 Posts

That isn't any more normal with a C3 than it is with any other car. It could be failing battery, failing charging system, poor battery cables or connections, or poor ground connections. Could be as simple a fix as a new battery, but I would tell any prospective seller to fix the problem and call you back if you really like the car and they want to sell it.

Mine has been sitting for 3 months and will turn over healthily and start without issue - without a battery charger. Don't let anyone tell you it's a "common Corvette problem". .
The following users liked this post:
ddawson (02-19-2018)
Old 02-19-2018, 06:22 AM
andyanth
Instructor

Originally Posted by JoeMinnesota