Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

71 BB convertible/Ridetech project.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2018, 10:38 PM
txfatboy1
Instructor

Received 88 Likes on 53 Posts
Default 71 BB convertible/Ridetech project.

Hello all. I have recently purchased a friends long term project. It is a '71 Convertible non-numbers matching 454 and TH400 automatic, ac, pwr str, pwr brks. The engine has been breathed on quite a bit and sounded very healthy (through open headers). The car has had a lot of the hard work done, and really only required exhaust and a master cylinder to make it a driver. It has had a body off frame restoration/rebuild and most of the interior is done. What I can see of the wiring harness looks new. Nearly the entire body looks perfect except for the openings for the headlight covers. I suspect there was some damage/repair that is going to require attention but it was done before my friend acquired the car so I have no knowledge to what degree that may be. One thing I will say, it sure is nice working on a car that has nothing but DUST on the parts.
The project will be broken into stages with the first round (in boxes on my garage floor) consisting of a complete Ridetech suspension kit, Wilwood brakes, Borgenson steering box, hydroboost conversion, front A-arm spreader bar, 18 inch wheels. The engine is getting aluminum heads, airgap dual plane and 850 Holley and SS side pipes. I have also ordered a L88 hood.
I am a 30+ year master tech and although this is my first Corvette, I am no stranger to large projects. That being said, I am grateful to have access to the wealth of information on this forum. It certainly makes this project much more manageable. I appreciate any and all advise/constructive criticism given.
Attached Images          
Old 04-09-2018, 05:23 AM
sug
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 510 Likes on 270 Posts
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (stock)
C3 of Year Winner (stock) 2019