Sponsored by:

Shifter upgrade questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2018, 11:13 PM
red62vette
Pro

Received 220 Likes on 152 Posts

Default Shifter upgrade questions

I have a 2017 GS. I love the car, but I do feel the shifter could be a bit more precise. I also sometimes select the incorrect gear and have to look at the gear indicator to get it right. BTW I've been driving manuals for about 35 years and have raced too, so it's not inexperience. Not sure if this is the nature of the tranny, or if it would be much better with a shifter upgrade. I've read several threads on shifter upgrades and am leaning toward the Callaway. My questions are: (1) would it make a noticeable improvement selecting the right gear, and (2) is it in general a modest or a big improvement? Any detail is appreciated. No big deal to live with it as is, it's pretty decent, but if the upgrade yields a big improvement, I'll do it.
Old 07-10-2018, 11:38 PM
Pineapple
Burning Brakes

Received 794 Likes on 381 Posts

Most C7 owners who go aftermarket shifter get the MGW Shifter. It’s a big improvement and my favorite on my car.

Here’s a quick review: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...tock-****.html
The following users liked this post:
red62vette (07-10-2018)
Old 07-11-2018, 12:35 AM
TKgs2010
Le Mans Master

Received 406 Likes on 273 Posts

Originally Posted by Pineapple
Most C7 owners who go aftermarket shifter get the MGW Shifter. It’s a big improvement and my favorite on my car.

Here’s a quick review: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...tock-****.html
The first mod I did to my new ZO6 was to install the MGW shifter. The factory shifter isn't bad, but the MGW is a major improvement in precision and feel.
Old 07-11-2018, 06:42 AM
rrsperry
Safety Car

Received 1,412 Likes on 737 Posts