Sponsored by:

Paint

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2018, 11:11 AM
Puffy
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint

Hello all. I'm a new to the Corvette club. I have a 68 Convertible that needs a paint job. It is the original red now but I was thinking of changing it to a more custom color. Will this affect the value of my vehicle as original? Any help or advice greatly appreciated.
Steve
Old 07-22-2018, 11:48 AM
68/BB
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

I am not an expert, just an observer and user of this terrific website, but my feeling is that that would somewhat depend on how original the car is in total. If it doesn't have original engine and has other modifications the effect will probably not be as much as if it were otherwise original overall. Also, custom work and colors tend to be of a very personal choice and as a general rule may detract from the value. Bottom line is it is your car, however you choose to enjoy it is on you. After saying that, I think the consensus will be that changing the color from what is on the paint code will typically reduce the value. JMO

BTW, we love to see pics of these amazing machines on here, since you are new poster we (me for sure) would enjoy seeing your '68 roadster.

Last edited by 68/BB; 07-22-2018 at 11:53 AM.
The following 2 users liked this post by 68/BB:
Puffy (07-23-2018), tokim (07-23-2018)
Old 07-22-2018, 11:54 AM
general ike
Melting Slicks

Received 792 Likes on 452 Posts
2017 C3 of the Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '20- '21

Steve, this is a "bad" question to ask. It can incite a potential riot here. It is like throwing gasoline on a fire!!
But to answer your question. It is your car so do what ever you want but I will give you my two cents worth of advise. If you plan on selling the car in the future and you change out the original color of the car, you will lose a group of potential buyers that want originality making it harder to sell. I am one of these people.