C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Technical question on the relation of ignition timing to compression/piston dish

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 11:13 AM
mobird
Burning Brakes

Received 158 Likes on 134 Posts
Default Technical question on the relation of ignition timing to compression/piston dish

Ok so I'm hoping some of the real knowledgeable tech guys on the forum can weigh in on this (preferably people who have spent some real dyno time playing with timing on different types of motors).

My motor is a stock bottom end, 4- bolt main 350 (-18cc dished pistons) with Brodix IK200 aluminum heads (64cc chambers) and .015 shim head gasket to help raise the compression on those cast dished pistons. That gives me roughly 9.4:1 compression. I'm running a Lunati 268 cam (227/233 duration at .50", and around .500" lift)

I have my timing set at 36 degrees total (20 initial, 16 mechanical) and I run 91 octane no-ethanol gas. What I"m trying to figure out is how much timing would be optimal for power. I do plan to get it on the dyno in the near future to experiment, but I'm curious how people do it without dyno time. I've heard some of the old methods of "turn it up till it pings, that back it off two degrees", but I doubt that is accurate for finding the optimal timing for max power.

In doing some reading, I've seen some references to lower compression motors with poor combustion chambers (mine is a poor piston design with a head that has a great combustion chamber) needing more timing, closer to 40 degrees. But I've also seen guys with 10:1 compression motors (not that much more than mine) making optimal power at 32 degrees. I assume the cam events and static vs dynamic compression play a significant role.

So how do you determine close to optimal timing without dyno time? Or is dyno time the only accurate way?