Sponsored by:

1976 Auto Trans noise in first and third

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2018, 03:55 PM
Al Garrett
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1976 Auto Trans noise in first and third

I've recently gotten a 76 corvette L48 with i believe a TH400. Thing was parked for a long time before, been restored to large degree and now driving. As of a few days ago, it won't upshift in auto. i can manual shift to any gear. it will downshift if i stomp the gas. And now there is a strange sound in first and third, coming from the cowl [gear shift/parking brake area] but not second. The sound is not persistent. Sounds more like something floating around and occasionally hitting, or maybe something spinning that is loose. When i first start the car, may not hear it. but after driving a little, its back. I'm a novice, so i just tried different things to see if the sound changes. I can leave in second and never hear it. I can place in third and then shift to neutral, the sound continues. Before this shifting and noise started i was riding around and stepped on the gas. When the car went to shift from 1st to 2nd (I think it was) it was like the car missed the gear. I let off the gas and everything seemed OK. But, then i started hearing sounds... then it stopped shifting. Any ideas on what i should be looking at? [Apologies if too much or too little info... and thanks, this group has already been helpful].
Old 10-19-2018, 04:17 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,469 Likes on 1,248 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Have you checked the tranny fluid level?
Old 10-19-2018, 04:20 PM
Al Garrett
4th Gear

Fluid level looks ok. About halfway between full level and low level.
Old 10-24-2018, 09:14 PM
Al Garrett
4th Gear