C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Question on Dash Bulbs (882's)

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2018, 01:25 PM
87 Corvette
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on Dash Bulbs (882's)

Maybe I'm missing something, so if anyone can add a little light, my thanks.
(If the moderators feels this is a stupid post, please delete, Thanks)

Firstly,
To all the guys guys on this Forum, my THANKS!!! for YEARS of awesome information that I've been able to use to affordably run my Vet.
I'm a retired Army Veteran so anything to keep costs down has been really appreciated. This site has more than done that for me.

I bought an 1987 Vet in 2011, and one dash bulb was burned out.
Following a lot of reading, my options were either change out the complete bulb type assembly (including remove the dash) or just find original bulbs.
Turns out 882's were not common, but after a lot of calls I found a light bulb place w a few in stock that were made by GE still in the boxes.
Replaced the one bulb, everything works fine.
Decided, if the original 882's are really hard to find, I should buy some spares, so bought 4 more in 2012 thinking I'd need them at some point and never find them again, allowing me to replace all 4 at one time.

Fast forward to 2018, I let this vet go, but forgot about the bulbs as I never burned anymore out after the first one was replaced.
Found them a few months back, listed them on the WTS site here, but did not hear anything back from anyone. (Was looking for $30 plus postage for the 4 bulbs or any offers)

I'm OK w re-purposing the bulbs (can use them on a train layout) but thought as these are NOS 882's and I thought, hard to find, and easy to replace there would be some interest from someone else who had a C4 and needed bulbs before I re-used them.

Politely asking, did I miss something, or maybe was the price to high for original 882 bulbs???