C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Premium pump gas going to 20% ethanol?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2018, 09:45 AM
CiCiC3
Racer

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Default Premium pump gas going to 20% ethanol?

It's rebuild time for my BB which is currently at 10:1 compression. The rumor is they are taking gas to higher alcohol levels? If this is true I should probably consider dropping the engine compression to possibly 9.5:1 or lower to prevent possible valve trouble? Any thoughts on it?
Old 11-14-2018, 10:03 AM
bashcraft
Le Mans Master

Received 109 Likes on 83 Posts

What rumor?
Old 11-14-2018, 10:08 AM
73racevette
Pro

Received 102 Likes on 76 Posts

I am no expert, but thoughts are all over the board on this regardless of your political persuasion. Last I heard manufacturers are wanting to push the fed for higher octane ratings in order to meet (sure to come) higher and higher CAFE standards. Other's (corn belt) want higher and higher ethanol content. Not sure anyone is smart enough to know what is coming next, including the Fed or the many proponents one way or the other.

For me, I would not bet on what is coming next. And I certainly would not reduce compression on a BBC down to 9.5:1 at least with aluminum heads unless your really don't care as much for power and are content with what you get with 9.5:1. Probably still good, but not great unless you start with power adders, etc.

Just my $.02.
Old 11-14-2018, 10:18 AM
cv67
Team Owner

Received 3,043 Likes on 2,602 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05

Ive been hearing lobbying for the opposite. Some new cars run as much as 12:1...stock!!
Alcohol is said to reduce mpg....mfrs have to increase theirs so it would make sense to perhaps see less at some point but what do I know.
For an occasional driver run as much as you can, get a head with a modern combustion chamber and the right cam.