C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Installing new carpet in 62

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2018, 05:50 PM
Newbs62
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing new carpet in 62

I have been restoring my 62 for the past 6 years. I am now in the process of putting carpet in. Does anyone know of a video I might be able to get to help me figure out the best way to do this? I googled "how to install carpet in a C1" but it was not any help. I borrowed a how to install dash pad from some members a few years ago and it was a super help. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.
Old 12-16-2018, 06:44 PM
Frankie the Fink
Team Owner

Received 7,082 Likes on 4,736 Posts
Army

Here are the tips I developed - I can install carpet in 45 minutes to an hour without using any glue:
Attached Images
The following 3 users liked this post by Frankie the Fink:
cowboyguy08 (01-25-2023), DaveHM (03-03-2024), solidaxel (12-17-2018)
Old 12-16-2018, 08:01 PM
Newbs62
Instructor

Thank you so much Frankie. This is exactly what I was needing. The order to put down each piece was one thing I was unsure about. Also, I have the seats out but I was thinking it would be nearly impossible to install them with the carpet and pad down. So I need to put the seats back first. The only other thing I am concerned about is putting the gas pedal back in. Is there any problems there to avoid? Thanks to you and all the other guys who have helped me in the long but fun process. I know I have had your help in the past. I actually drove it a few weeks ago for the first time since 1996. Of course with the seat out it was trickier sitting on a concrete block. But it was still a huge thrill after all these years.
Old 12-16-2018, 08:05 PM
1Cerberus4u
Pro

Received 44 Likes on 33 Posts

Frankie, do you have this for the C2's?
Old 12-16-2018, 08:18 PM
Frankie the Fink
Team Owner

Army