Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2019, 07:54 PM
Vettestang1978
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie

Hello guys I am new to the Corvette world, just purchased my first Corvette a 2000 c5 just waiting for the frozen tundra here in Canada to thaw out, so I can pick it up from storage, due to my budget ( and having 5 kids will do that) I couldn't afford a Z06 will the C5 be ok? I am coming over from a 1990 foxbody Mustang, and what would recommendations be for first upgrades to be done on it, all maintenance has been done and she was well taken care of, thanks for any input
Old 02-21-2019, 08:07 PM
Robrote
Burning Brakes

Received 176 Likes on 117 Posts

Welcome to the C5 world. You'll have a blast. Best advice........Drive it!
Old 02-21-2019, 08:27 PM
Evil-Twin
Team Owner

Received 3,812 Likes on 1,925 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03-'04

With five kids, I would put that extra money away for their schooling. The C5 is a lot of fun right out of the box. Welcome to the Corvette Forum. A 19 year old car can have problems, so its always good to have extra money for repairs. Unfortunately Corvettes break down too, and unlike the fox body, a Corvette repair usually come with the Corvette tax.
Bill aka ET
Old 02-21-2019, 08:35 PM
Vettestang1978
Heel & Toe

Im kind of realizing the Corvette tax already as I was inquiring about installing a double din in my Vette and one guy said " I will have to charge a little more because it's a Corvette" and don't get me started on college fund.....yikes
Old 02-21-2019, 09:18 PM
4XLR8N
Le Mans Master
Pro Mechanic

Received 1,652 Likes on 1,209 Posts

Welcome to the asylum...
Old 02-21-2019, 09:37 PM
corvette.cw
Pro

Received 242 Likes on 156 Posts

Welcome! Post some pics of your C5 when you can.
Old 02-21-2019, 11:37 PM
Anthony F
Burning Brakes

Received 73 Likes on 48 Posts

Welcome to the forum and congrats on the C5.
Old 02-22-2019, 01:39 AM
grantv
Le Mans Master

Received 535 Likes on 491 Posts