Notices
C8 General Discussion The place to discuss the next generation of Corvette.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C8 HUD - still just a gimmick?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2019, 11:24 PM
oregonsharkman
Melting Slicks

Received 938 Likes on 364 Posts

Default C8 HUD - still just a gimmick?

First, let me clarify - I am a big fan of Head Up Displays. In fact, I am actually a design engineering manager for the largest HUD company in the world (Collins Aerospace Head up Guidance Systems). Second, I admire the Corvette team and their industry (auto) leading attempt to integrate the HUD idea into a production car.

That being said, the current (and previous ) head up displays in the Corvette are little more than a gimmick. Yes, I've spent some time driving (including on a track - Spring Mountain) with the HUD implementation in the C7 and it's not impressive. Here's why:

1) It projects WAY too low on the windshield -- meaning you can't look through it and continue to focus on your natural field of vision. When I was on the track with a helmet on, I found myself constantly having to duck my head to make any use of it while focusing on driving. I actually found the bright color display of the race mode tachometer to be a better indictor in my peripheral vision. A real HUD system should be located (and adjustable) in your direct line of sight and focused to infinity so that your eyes do not have to refocus between the terrain and your HUD image.