C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

93 cat replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2024, 01:36 PM
monue
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 93 cat replacement

Okay. I am NOT a mechanic. I have a 93 LT 1 I bought new. 17,000 actual miles. Only work ever done to the car was general service. A few years ago it began to miss and run rough once it warmed up, especially at high speeds. Didn't do this all the time and usually ran fine 55 to 65 MPH. I replaced MAP and ICM sensors. Ran a bottle of injector cleaner through it last fall and ran it pretty hard to blow out the build up. This seemed to solve the problem. It was running great until I was putting it away for winter. Then it started making a noise and wouldn't run very well. I discovered the noise was the cat converter because of where the sound was and metallic flakes and debris exiting the driver side exhaust. My question is: could this problem with the car not running well be because that the cat was failing or did the car not running properly cause the cat to fail? AND, which problem should be addressed first, replacing the CAT or investigating and repairing whatever was causing the car to run rough? I have a shop that can replace the CAT and another shop that can possibly find and repair the problem with the car running poorly. I just don't know which should be done first. I plan to have ox sensor replaced when Cat is done. No indicator lights come on. Thank you all in advance.
Old 05-11-2024, 07:23 PM
jmgtp
Drifting

Received 218 Likes on 171 Posts