Texas members: buying used Vette out of state

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 04:31 PM
WhiteDiamond
Race Director

Received 84 Likes on 55 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15

Default Texas members: buying used Vette out of state

My family and I are pretty new to the Houston area and I am preparing to add a Z06 to the garage soon. I have been searching the DMV's website trying to figure out what I need to do to purchase a Vette out of state and then bring it here. If anyone on here has done this, I wouldn't mind exchanging a few PM's or e-mails with you. I am preparing for this as I very much want to a get a LMB Z06 and there are only sooo many of them out there.
Old 02-18-2010, 05:00 PM
mr. creosote
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I'm no expert on this, but as I recall I just took my purchase paperwork (I believe there's a title transfer form from the DMV you can get on-line http://www.txdmv.gov/index.htm) and insurance to an office of the County Tax Assessor's Office, paid the registration and sales tax, and received the new Texas plates for it. Oh, it needs to have a current inspection too - I had to go back for that.

Once you have the car, or earlier for that matter, if you'd like to meet with other vette owners in the NW Houston area (NW Houston Vette-Rods) you can stop by Starbuck's at Spring Cypress & Champions Forest on Sunday mornings. http://www.nwhoustonvette-rods.com/index.html
Old 02-18-2010, 05:40 PM
Vette_Minded
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I Just bought mine out of state about 3 months ago. You'll need the following.

Title (signed)

Bill of sale (signed)

You'll have to get it inspected (the inspection is in addition to the state inspection and was about $20) my local dealer did it for me no problem. When its done you'll get a form from the dealer that you'll have to give to the tax office.