Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! ABS out of control

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2007, 12:24 PM
LappDog
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! ABS out of control

I have an '03 ZO6 that I have been tracking for 3 years. I have been using Hoosiers, HT-10 brake pads, along with Motul with very positive results. (Won my division for 2 years). Last year the rules were changed and I needed to get on less aggressive tires if I did not want to be bumped into a higher group. I chose RA1's (275x40x17 & 305x35x18)as the stagger and weight was very close to stock. I also added QA1 adj. shocks. My problem is the ABS is kicking in braking into corners, lengthens my stops, and I am running off the track! I have played with different settings on the shocks (currently 9 fr and 8 back) but no change. Tire pressures are about 40 hot. I was told if I disconnect the ABS at the wheels the car will not drive over 50mph. Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 01-20-2007, 12:32 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

When was the last time you changed your bearings?
Old 01-20-2007, 01:18 PM
LappDog
2nd Gear

Never. They don't seem to be noisy or show any play
Old 01-20-2007, 02:11 PM
0ATI Performance
Former Vendor

If you want to try driving the car without ABS, simply pull the ABS fuse (in the fuse box under the hood, it is one of the big fuses, look on the chart inside the cover). The IP will complain, but other than that the car will drive fine. I never heard of the 50mph limit, that is not true. Simply plug the fuse back in and reset codes to go back to ABS.

If your car has dynamic rear brake proportioning (and not a mechanical proportioning value) you may end up with too much rear brake bias and need to compensate with pads or other means.

Bob
Old 04-02-2007, 12:25 PM
TommyBoy72
Pro