Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track Design?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2009, 05:30 PM
dfinke23
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Track Design?

After reading Dean's post a couple of weeks ago about an accident he was involed in as an instructor, I have a couple of questions.
I have only driven on 2 different tracks, both have at least one negative camber corner and one had two rises; one rise immediately followed by a negative camber corner and one by a heavy breaking zone. Why?
In either case, the lay of the land didn't require these elements to be included in the design. It seeems to me to include things in the design that intentionally upset the car's stability, is bad design at best and dangerous at worst. I know it can test a driver's ability to keep the car under control, but to do this with walls involved, as in Dean's case, is not necessary. Can you not test a driver's skill without putting them in excess danger?
I'm rather new to tracking and there could be perfectly reasonable explanations, I just don't know what they are.
Comments please.

Last edited by dfinke23; 10-01-2009 at 05:34 PM.
Old 10-01-2009, 05:41 PM
95jersey
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You've never been to Watkins Glen... talk about high speed and negative camber with big walls.

I think these turns should definately be on a road courses, as a well set up car and good driver make all the difference in getting through them quickly, but there is no excuse for walls that are too close to the track.

Heck, I drove a new track Monticello for the first time and I think the barriers were closer than at the Glen and that is a new track!!!

I've always said, it would be a dream to drive on a real F1 grade course with football fields of gravel and run-off.