Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hand Positioning while cornering?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2009, 10:32 AM
JimbeauZ06
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Hand Positioning while cornering?

So I've been driving HPDE solo for a couple of years now, but I still like to get an instructor in the car from time to time to give me some pointers and spot bad habits I might not be catching myself.

Recently I got some coaching from an experienced instructor and he had lot's of positive reinforcement, but he did catch one bad habit I've developed that I'd be interested in hearing from you all on.

He didn't like my hand position on the wheel and that I was leaning into the turn and moving my left hand to the right side of the wheel in right turns for example. I could definitely see his point, and much of that bad habit was developed before I installed race seats and harnesses. But as I started trying to work to keep proper hand position I noticed three big barriers to keeping my hands at 10&2: The center console, the driver's door armrest and the driver's substantial mid-section.

So I've tried the "chicken wing" which works OK for the right arm and involves incrementally raising my right elbow toward the roof as I turn right. And I've tried "walking the wheel". My last two events I've tried to be aware of my hands, but I've not really found an approach I'm comfortable with yet.

Someone suggested removing the center console but that's not really an option just yet. Also currently working to remove or reduce the third barrier.