Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

nasa st2/tts C5Z setup

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 03:51 PM
redtopz
Melting Slicks

Received 44 Likes on 27 Posts

Default nasa st2/tts C5Z setup

I have been tracking my C5Z for a couple years and I've done the following to the car:

LG longtube headers, vararam, Pfadt coilovers, T1 bars, Dewitts radiator with EOC, DRM/LG cooling ducts, LG G-stop wilwood front calipers, seats/harnesses. Everything else is stock. I'm very happy with the performance of my car setup.

I've been debating buying a T1 or ST2 prepped car and selling my vette. But at this point I think I will just build my car to ST2 specs. My last track day at Laguna Seca seems to have done some damage to my rear diff as I have black oil all over my rear end and part of my tranny. I was getting "transmission overheating" warnings at the track and I was running pretty hard for 30 minute sessions. I'm looking for opinions on what I should do to my car for TTS/ST2 racing class. This is what I have thought of so far:

Roll cage/fire suppression system (6 point? 8 point?)
Dry sump
Front splitter and rear wing (brand and size?)
New rear diff with cooling
Tranny cooler

I appreciate any advice/ideas. Will the stock pfadt coilovers be suitable for aero downforce? Thank you,

Bill.
Old 02-23-2010, 03:54 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

Bill

Have you looked at NASA tech regulations for race cars, and then the ST2 rules?
Old 02-23-2010, 04:03 PM
J.R.
Drifting

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Bill,

SCCA or NASA approved cage is critical.

Fire ext. system. I would recommend 10 lb so you can run 4-6 nozzles.

A dry sump system is expensive (5-6K) and with LS6 engines I have had good results with an Accusump system.