Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driving Technique: If NOT Heel Toe

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2014, 11:41 AM
Joshboody
Burning Brakes

Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts

Default Driving Technique: If NOT Heel Toe

Curious about the different techniques. I do H/T on the street sometimes, but not so easy for me unless I’m braking hard… light braking and rev matching is fairly difficult… so I have limited experience and will prob not attempt during my first HPDE this Sat. So if not H/T how do you take a turn…

1. Do you let the clutch out during straight line braking? And maybe during turn sometimes?
2. Clutch out once accelerate from turn… I prefer to be in gear while turning, so I don’t like this option
3. Rev match before brake… this seems to be the smoothest, but slowest. And overall gear choice to fit this technique would put you down on power.

To me #3 is best stepping up your game over time adding H/T to lower your overall gearing. #1 prob best for fastest novice (or lazy) driving but not good if wanting to improve. What ya think?
Old 10-01-2014, 12:19 PM
t.renz791
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

1. Always, ALWAYS perform your downshift before your turn, or do not downshift at all. If you let the clutch out while turning, even if smooth, you will upset the rear end, and potentially spin.
2. I don't understand your question really, you want to be in the right gear, and roll into the throttle just after the apex. If you are tracking a Miata, you can usually put the gas to the floor right at the apex, in a higher powered car like a corvette, be gentle and roll in the throttle as you unwind the wheel/track out.