Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Toying with a Mini Cooper S at ECR Toys for Tots run...

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2014, 08:29 PM
PRE-Z06
Race Director

Received 2,054 Likes on 1,306 Posts

Default Toying with a Mini Cooper S at ECR Toys for Tots run...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xpwj...ature=youtu.be
Now I like to think I'm a decent driver and not the typical Corvette driver with an ego who has no experience driving it at the limits, but was told the line is the same for an approximately 2,700lb 200fwhp car on 205mm tires with a 59/41 weight distribution and a 3100lb 450rwhp car on 275/295mm tires with a 51/49 weight distribution which I thought was interesting. Was also surprised to be told that the car would dust my car on track because I asked if they had considered grouping fwd and rwd togethers cars for the event being that they would behave more similar on track ie apex/braking zone. As you can see/hear in the video he was working pretty hard and I was hardly on the throttle/tires squealing as I can't pass him of course, until we caught another run group out there and had left the others in our group behind being it was a lead/follow session. I would have gotten closer though the perspective from the license plate is a little skewed, but didn't trust my 320 treadwear tires with no ABS as I also wanted to apologize to the other modded C5Z in case he's on here that I was following later and had to dive to the inside/pass to avoid hitting as my left front locked up on cold tires and a bumpy part of the track. I've had issues in the past with a bad wheel speed sensor causing abs to not work, but the light wasn't on...I bled brakes and checked caliper when I got home to make sure it wasn't sticking, but was wondering if maybe the BPMV could be gummed up as I never get into ABS on the street and