Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Vette noob needs some help with Grand Sport autoX/track day mods

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2015, 05:01 PM
baddogz28
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vette noob needs some help with Grand Sport autoX/track day mods

Hi guys... Noob here with some basic questions about tracking my GS- right away I will be autocrossing the car the end of this month and running the July 5th track day at COTA with Edge Addicts.

Here's my tentative build out plan (did some searching but just wanted some opinions: )

1. Seat upgrade... Sparco Evo or the like with Crow harnesses and Sharkbar- any other seats that are 'go to' in the Vette community that I should consider?

2. Stainless steel brake lines and high temp fluid, any particular brands I should focus on?

3. Track wheels... Should I try to snag some OEM take off Z06 or GS wheels or would ebay knock-offs suffice for track duty? Used CCW's in the for sale forum? Any size and wheel widths that are the norm for you guys? I'd like to retain TPMS.

4. Tires... I'd like to stay with something 200TW for longevity and AutoX classing, any particular recommendations? I know from searching that many of the latest greatest rubber seems to not be exact fit for the Vette.

I'm not a newbie to being on track- familiar with the usual pre-track prep for what it's worth... Advanced run group with NASA Texas at this point.

Any other additional mods I should do before putting this thing thru its paces? Additional brake ducting in the front?

Thanks for humoring me guys, and I appreciate any feedback.
Old 06-16-2015, 04:40 PM
baddogz28
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bump? Too many questions I guess... lol.
Old 06-16-2015, 05:32 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,956 Likes on 5,345 Posts