Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Which would you choose? please add comments below
HPDE weekend
64.29%
Autocross school
23.81%
high performance driving experience
4.76%
day of hot laps in high performance go karts
7.14%
Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

where to start? HPDE, Autocross school, or race car experience?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2017, 11:53 AM
clearwaterms
Drifting

Received 106 Likes on 88 Posts

Default where to start? HPDE, Autocross school, or race car experience?

My wife gave me an awesome Christmas gift, a choose my own adventure. i can choose one of several different racing "experiences"

I have no "track" experience in my Corvette, so I am looking for something that will help me get started. The car is a stock 08 that will have a new set of Michelin Pilot Sport tires on it.

Option 1: 2 day Autocross school. something like the evolution driving school: http://www.evoschool.com/ but I am open to suggestions beyond that.

Option 2: a 2 day HPDE event. I need track insurance, and from what I understand, track insurance covers a weekend for roughly the same price as a single day, so I would likely just go for a weekend.

Option 3: one of any number of those race car experiences, 15 laps, etc. in a NASCAR car, etc. This provides the smallest experience and likely not an option

Option 4: a day of hot laps / practice with high performance go karts (http://sugarriverraceway.com/go-kart...laps-practice/)

Cost will be an issue, i will need to come up with the difference above and beyond the value of the "gift" and I don't want to more than double the cost of the gift as I am concerned that would send the wrong message to my wife.
Old 01-03-2017, 12:02 PM
UrbanKnight
Drifting

Received 122 Likes on 97 Posts