Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question for those with T1 sway bars

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2017, 11:58 PM
JEPopp
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15-'16-'17

Default Question for those with T1 sway bars

I've been running hpde now for several years. My skills have improved to the point where I'd like to try stiffer sway bars.
I have heard T1 sway bars when run with street tires (stock sizes) will cause a lot of push in the corners.Has anyone experienced this?

I drive a 2012 Grand Sport, with RE11 tires.

Thanks!
Old 01-11-2017, 05:00 AM
apex26
Racer

Received 57 Likes on 47 Posts
Default don't think it's a problem

There are guys on here with much more experience, so it will be interesting to hear from them. I rode with a very accomplished engineer instructor who had a mostly stock C5 Z06, but he had added T1 bars. He added them because his car had no feel in the esses at Watkins Glen. My first ride was with crappy street tires he jokingly called his "mud and snows", and my next ride was on slicks. The car was wonderfully neutral both times. With that experience, I found a deal on a new set of T1 bars for my C5Z, and just installed them last fall, after the season. Just on the street, it feels the same--except much more flat and planted. The rear bars have 3 holes, so I'm not the slightest concerned, because there is massive adjustability. I run Michelins, Nitto NTO1's, and am transitioning to Hoosiers. Another instructor engineer friend with a C5Z says "everybody who has them loves them".
The following users liked this post:
JEPopp (01-11-2017)
Old 01-11-2017, 07:09 AM
sccaGT1racer
Pro

Received 108 Likes on 88 Posts

Originally Posted by JEPopp
I've been running hpde now for several years. My skills have improved to the point where I'd like to try stiffer sway bars.