C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Edelbrock #2116 Vortec intake

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2006, 02:14 PM
billla
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 58 Likes on 41 Posts
St. Jude Donor '14

Default Edelbrock #2116 Vortec intake

I'm new to Vortec heads and this intake - the Vortec head seems to have a cooling passage at the front and rear similar to the GEN I heads, but the Edelbrock Performer Vortec intake completely blocks the rear coolant passage. There's a note regarding an external coolant bypass with some fittings and a hose, but no information on what this is for, why I'd want it or how it's installed. Anyone have experience with this combo?

Sorry, newbie question :/
Old 11-13-2006, 02:23 PM
jackson
Le Mans Master

Received 628 Likes on 556 Posts

Originally Posted by billla
I'm new to Vortec heads and this intake - the Vortec head seems to have a cooling passage at the front and rear similar to the GEN I heads, but the Edelbrock Performer Vortec intake completely blocks the rear coolant passage. There's a note regarding an external coolant bypass with some fittings and a hose, but no information on what this is for, why I'd want it or how it's installed. Anyone have experience with this combo?

Sorry, newbie question :/
Vortec like all other sbc heads are meant for either right or left ... a water port in front of left becomes at rear when installed on right. It is normal that only front of manifold has water ports. Only a few intakes have water ports at rear. Just install it & put it out of mind ... it's a non-issue.
Old 11-13-2006, 02:29 PM
iNdigo
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm struggling with a related problem. Here's all the info I could come up with:

Bypass Discussion

My Specific Problem