C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C3 vs 911

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 07:03 PM
ps374
Melting Slicks

Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts

Default C3 vs 911

Never drove or owned a Porsche in my life. But some years ago I sat in one.Sorry ,but to me it felt like a VW? Today I was talking to a fellow who recently owned a 78 Corvette. Hes a auto detailer by trade and one of his weekly customers lets him pick up his Porsche and drive it. Its a rag top 911 which appears to be about 2 years old. He tell me his C3 rode hard, but that the 911 rides no better. He also tells me he finds the feel much less exciting than his 78. He tells me the cars motor always feels like is racing and in short he seemed more impressed with his 78 although admitting is was far slower. He also claims the Germans get near 90 Grand for this car? So I have to wonder. Whats all the hype about this Icon that has been around longer than the Corvette and costs double the price. Why are most of the magazines always using a Porsche 911 as the standard for Performance. Is this guy just bias, ignorant,or onto something?
Old 02-14-2008, 07:14 PM
Scott Marzahl
Le Mans Master

Received 194 Likes on 149 Posts

Granted, as much as I like my Corvettes, the Porsche's I've owned are in a class by themselves. With all respect, I think your friend is a bit biased. Even a comparable year 911 or 930 will run circles around a '78 C3 not to mention that they incredibly quicker and will cruise effortlessly at 140. There is no comparison between the two. Like the movie saying goes, "Porsche..there is no substitute."
Old 02-14-2008, 07:21 PM
KTKelly
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Scott Marzahl
Gr Like the movie saying goes, "Porsche..there is no substitute."