C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flexplate to Flywheel… This shouldn't be so difficult, Right?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2015, 04:17 PM
Heisenberg
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Flexplate to Flywheel… This shouldn't be so difficult, Right?

Goal: A lightweight (22lbs or so) steel flywheel

Will accept: Any flywheel that will work.

Disclaimer: I'm a noob to SBCs, located in the KC area. Please don't hate on me but I've been a life long MOPAR guy and this is my first foray into actually modding a Chevrolet. About a year ago I bought THE car I would have purchased on my 16th birthday (if I had a job that was a bit better paying than what the local movie theater was paying in 1977.)

My 1977 4 speed 'Vette still had the original, stock L-48. It runs fine, but guys, come on? 180 hp??? Really??? Get real! Soooooo, I'm doing a "simple" engine swap. But I'm having a hell of a time finding a correct flywheel.

I'm swapping the original generation 1 SBC engine with a gen 2, roller cam 1990 block, one piece rear main seal, externally balanced 355 ci. engine. It's a used, low miles local machine shop's version of a GM ZZ3 or 4 crate engine (The gen 2 engine I am swapping into the car originally had an automatic with an externally balanced flex-plate behind it.) Unfortunately, I don't know the name of the shop that built the engine. I do HAVE the flexplate and see the offset weight on it. So it's obviously an externally balanced assembly. I test drove the car that the engine was installed in. It ran smooth with no noticeable engine vibrations from idle to 5800 rpm.