C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crate motor or rebuild?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2003, 07:14 PM
aardvark
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crate motor or rebuild?

I am not a mechanic, so some of this will be very basic to you guys who can do your own work or are more knowledgable. I have a 73 with standard motor and auto transmission. I was considering a Jasper engine rebuild using my core, but lately have been looking into GM crate engines and trying to learn about them. Could you explain any advantages or disadvantages to the two possibilities? What comes with a GM crate engine? I know or think that it is a "new" engine. What parts would I have to add to it to make it run?

Thanks
Old 07-21-2003, 07:41 PM
flood
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Crate motor or rebuild? (aardvark)

Crate engines come in all different forms. Some just add a carb and some you have to add alot more.

Crate motors are great. You don't have to do any guess work on head/cam combos or matching intakes. They did it all from the factory to get a great performing engine. no guessing. All GM parts.

If you build it, or have it rebuilt by a good machine shop, you may get a better build quality and it may be less expensive, you could also get alot more power depending on what you want.

There is no answer as to which is better. It really depends on your attitude twords it. Crate motor is less hassle, less guess work. Rebuild could provide a less costly bill or more performance. Crate motor is a sure-thing peformance wise, its all spec.

I personally think the crate motor would be the less hassle route.

Also , this engine rocks http://www.sallee-chevrolet.com/Chev...eeZZ450HP.html