C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Courtesy lights timer

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2006, 02:16 PM
freakinwalt
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Courtesy lights timer

Greetings all, On my '92 Vette the courtesy lights stay on all the time even while driving. I assume there is a controller somewhere for this. It also controls the electronic climate controls and the stereo. Can someone please point me in the right direction on this?
Thanks for your help.
Old 11-28-2006, 03:14 PM
polo93LT1
Racer

Default Not an expert

Hey - I'm not an expert but this "sounds" like faulty door switch on either one (or both - maybe) of the doors.

If the door switch doesn't see the door closed, then the interior lights stay on and, pretty sure that the radio probably won't work either. Not sure about the climate control.

Hopefully one of the more "learned" forum folks will respond with better info.
Old 11-28-2006, 03:17 PM
rocco16
Race Director

Received 176 Likes on 129 Posts

Originally Posted by polo93LT1
Hey - I'm not an expert but this "sounds" like faulty door switch on either one (or both - maybe) of the doors.
More than one forum member has reported having to shim the door switch(es) to get their lights to go out.

Larry
code5coupe
Old 11-28-2006, 03:21 PM
scranage
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Check to see if radio shuts off when you open either door, if it does the jam switches are ok. Next check to see if the the door lock key slots are oriented vertical, if not that is your likely problem.
Old 11-28-2006, 03:30 PM
polo93LT1
Racer

Originally Posted by scranage
Check to see if radio shuts off when you open either door, if it does the jam switches are ok. Next check to see if the the door lock key slots are oriented vertical, if not that is your likely problem.
WOW - Really?? That's the first time I've heard about the key slots being vertical - that's pretty wild.