C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

accel dfi gen 7 start problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2006, 12:41 PM
Dalannex
Safety Car

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

Default accel dfi gen 7 start problem

I have an accel dfi gen 7 system and I have a starting issue with it.

When it's cold I start it and it dies. I start it again and it dies. The third time I start it away it goes and it runs and idles fine.

When it's hot (as in 180-200 deg.) and I start it the idle hunts up and down. It is a surge from about 200 to 700 then back to 200 and back to 700 RPM.

I am a little bit confused as to what to try as far as fixing this goes. I have the starting fuel, afterstart fuel, afterstart decay. What is the sequence of operation as to when the ecm looks at these tables and what suggestions do you have as far as what to try changing. When does the decay modifier table come into effect?????

I'm new at tuning fuel injection and would like some pointers.

Thanks,
Justin
Old 09-22-2006, 02:58 PM
DieL
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Are you using a wideband o2 ? Have you set your VE tables yet ? What is your timing at those map pressures around where your car is idling at ? If your car is hunting for an idle when hot what is your idle spark control set at ?

To start off when you first crank it and it dies, how long is it running for ? Is it stumbling then dying ? or is it running for 5-10 seconds then dying ?
Old 09-23-2006, 01:52 AM
DieL
Melting Slicks

Old 09-23-2006, 09:58 AM
Dalannex
Safety Car

The base VE tables are tuned correctly as far as I know. The system was put on by a dyno shop and initially tuned by them. The idle thing has been a problem since the day I picked it up. I could take it back and have them fix it, but I would like to fix it myself so that I can learn about it.

I am not using a wideband O2.