C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

How do you change the Differential oil? Drill and tap housing for drain plug?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2002, 05:10 PM
2funnn
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you change the Differential oil? Drill and tap housing for drain plug?

I am planning on changing the Diff. oil on my 92 (Dana 44) and my wife's
94(Dana 36). Have any of you drilled and tapped the housing for a drain plug?
I am thinking of doing that and wanted your advice.
I am a machinist so I know how to do things like that.
Thanks in advance! :chevy
Old 01-06-2002, 06:20 PM
JAKE
Le Mans Master

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Re: How do you change the Differential oil? Drill and tap housing for drain plug? (2funnn)

I'm not familar with your year but on the 86 there is a screw-in plug on the passenger side of the housing.

Once removed guys usually install a small suction pump and pump it out. Removing the rear cover is a real PIA.

When I changed mine I used the pump out method and added a bottle of Posi-Lube from GM's parts department.

If yours doesn't have a removable plug, I guess you only have two options: remove the rear cover or drill and tap for a plug.

I'm sure you know that with the drill and tap method you've got to be concerned with metal shavings.

Maybe someone else that has the same year car as you will chime in.

Hope this helps.

Jake
Old 01-06-2002, 07:59 PM
Rich B.
Melting Slicks

Default Re: How do you change the Differential oil? Drill and tap housing for drain plug? (2funnn)

I'm pretty close to doing the same thing; drill & tap in-place, let the runoff oil clean the hole...Tap it...Then dump a quart of 10w30 in the diff to clean out the threads...(let it run right out through the new drain)...

Now, you brought up another option: D&T the diff or the cover??? (Well, what passes for a cover)...